Connect with us


Panthers NHL Award Watch: Joel Quenneville, Jack Adams Coach of the Year



Quenneville panthers blackhawks
Florida Panthers coach Joel Quenneville walks to the bench between periods during a game against the Carolina Hurricanes at PNC Arena during the 2019-20 season. // Photo by Greg Thompson, Icon Sportswire

Even though his Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup three times and he is the second-winningest coach in NHL history, Joel Quenneville has won the Jack Adams Award for Coach of the Year just one time in his legendary, Hall of Fame career.

That came 21 years ago when, during the 1999-2000 season, Coach Q’s St. Louis Blues won 51 games.

That’s almost as long as it has taken the Panthers to get out of the first round of the playoffs.


Get FHN+ today!

The Panthers wrapped up one of their best regular seasons in franchise history Monday night.

As they head into the playoffs this weekend against the Lightning, there is renewed hope the Panthers can, finally, make a deep playoff run.

Florida’s success this season has placed Quenneville as a likely finalist for the Jack Adams Award.

At the midseason point, a panel of 17 writers had him the overwhelming favorite over Carolina’s Rod Brind’Amour, Chicago’s Jeremy Colliton, Minnesota’s Dean Evason and Toronto’s Sheldon Keefe.

Florida’s second half was as good as its first.

When it comes to the Jack Adams, Quenneville is looked at as the favorite to win with Brind’Amour and Evason the top competitors.

This content is for FHN+ subscribers only. You can sign-up for $3.49 per month or get a yearly subscription for only $29.99!

Current subscribers, please log in to view.

Log In Join Now

Get FHN in your inbox!

Be the first to know. Enter your email to get the latest from Florida Hockey Now delivered straight to your inbox.

FHN on Facebook

Panthers Team & Cap Info