Connect with us


And the NHL award goes to … the Florida Panthers?



Florida Panthers NHL award

When it comes to NHL awards, the Florida Panthers do not have a long nor deep history of winning.

Pavel Bure, of course, won the first two big ones in franchise history but his Rocket Richard trophies were based on his stats.

Scoring the most goals in the league for a given season is impressive, yes, but it is not an award won by being voted on by peers of the media.

Brian Campbell was the next to bring some hardware back to South Florida, becoming the first defenseman to win the Lady Byng for the player who exhibited the “best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability” in 58 years.

Get FHN+ today!

Seven years later in 2019, Sasha Barkov won the same award.

Both Jonathan Huberdeau and Aaron Ekblad won the Calder Trophy for the top rookie.

In 2016, Jaromir Jagr won the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, which goes to the player who “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.”

And that, when it comes to NHL postseason awards, is it for the Panthers.

Based on the first half of this season, however, that could change.

The Panthers, right now, have three legitimate candidates for major NHL postseason awards — none of which have to do with the best rookie or the most “gentlemanly” player.

This content is for FHN+ subscribers only. You can sign-up for $3.49 per month or get a yearly subscription for only $29.99!

Current subscribers, please log in to view.

Log In Join Now

Get FHN in your inbox!

Be the first to know. Enter your email to get the latest from Florida Hockey Now delivered straight to your inbox.

FHN on Facebook

Panthers Team & Cap Info